Your Life, Your Choice

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”
Robert Frost

******

It’s getting harder and harder to breathe

Sometimes I think it’s time to give up,

To forget.

But I’m afraid of the unexpected.

What’s going to happen when I’m gone?

Will everyone be happier? Will anyone miss me?

Will I just be a memory that rests on the side of someone’s brain,

Only to be reactivated whenever someone says depressed?

Is that what I am?

Depressed.

It’s funny how one word could describe someone’s life.

Is that all I mean? Just one word pulled out from the dictionary.

How do you continue from here,

knowing that you hate every single part of you?

Where you just can’t look at yourself anymore because you are just ashamed

Ashamed of whom you are on the outside and the inside.

Who am I?

I’m depression.

Sometimes I look at the mirror and tell myself it gets better.

Then this whisper in my head laughs and stares back,

“When will you ever get better?”

As I continue to state at myself,

the whisper turns into a shout.

“You’re ugly.”

“You’re worthless”

“You’re never going to be enough”

And before you know it.

No longer a whisper, no longer a voiceless shout.

That voice shoting at you is your own voice,

screaming for help.

live-life-quotes-live-each-day-as-if-your-life-had-just-begun

But then I breathe, I breathe and remember.

I woke up today-getting another chance to right my wrongs.

Another chance to get better.

Another chance to live.

It is your life and it is your choice. Whether you want to live in reckless abandon, or if you want to live in reckless wonder.

Life’s no cinematic movie.

Life gets difficult, life gets beautiful.

Live the life you want to live.

Make it worth rewatching.

No pause, no forward, no rewind.

Just play.

***********

“You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching,
Love like you’ll never be hurt,
Sing like there’s nobody listening,
And live like it’s heaven on earth.”
William W. Purkey

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment