One Simple Mistake

Featured image on relatbly.com

It’s funny how one little mistake could define you.

Funny how, one little action of misfit has the ability to alter your future.

As if you built your whole life on doing good deeds, always listening/following the rules, never leaving room for mistakes-until boom..

You make a mistake.

And all those good deeds you’ve been doing, all the rules you’ve been following, and your streak of no mistakes is completely ruined. Resulting in everyone forgetting about everything and anything other than that one mistake.

Quote by My Dear Valentine on relably.com

I know from personal experience how this simple act goes.

Back in sophomore year I had two bestfriends who, I thought at the time would be there for me until I die, left me due to an idiotic mistake that I made.

The mistake being-I had told my bestfriend at the time she was being cheated on by her boyfriend. Sounds reasonable to tell her right?

Wrong.

She said and I quote, “If you were my friend, you wouldn’t have told me that. I could’ve lived my whole life without knowing that. Why do you have to be so nosy and dig into my relationship?”

Brutal, huh?

At the time I didn’t realize what was going on, I had never been so confused in my life. I was being branded as a backstabber of a bestfriend, a nosy person, and an overall untrustworthy person.

Was it wrong for me to pry into their relationship?

Had it been a mistake to investigate my friend’s boyfriend?

Yes and no.

Although it was a mistake of mine to get involved into something rather messy, a mistake to get involve into something I shouldn’t have butted my nose in-I’m glad I did. And here’s why.

If I never had made that decision I never would’ve figured out how horrible of a friend she was to me. I never would have figured out that sometimes secrets are secrets for a reason. I never would’ve figured out that sometimes relationships “seen” on the outside isn’t really what it’s like in the inside.

Here’s what I’m trying to say in a nutshell :

Mistakes happen.

They happen constantly. Sometimes more than you want.

But it’s okay. 

Mistakes will define you into someone you know you’re not.

Don’t be scared.

You’ll feel as though you’re not good enough to reach your goal because of your mistake.

Breath in and do it again. Don’t give up.

Mistakes are a natural process in life which gives us the ability to grow. Mistakes aren’t something that should be condoned, in fact I think they should be encouraged-to a certain extent ofcourse. Without mistakes we’d be living a life blindly, a life I wouldn’t want to see because it’s too perfect.

I wouldn’t have known how to tie my shoe, if I hadn’t mistakenly learned how myself. (Long story short, I was playing with a ribbon one day and low and behold-I made a knot. To this day, I don’t know how it happened.)

If I hadn’t mistakenly put caramel sauce instead of creamer into my coffee, I would’ve never figured out the perfect recipe to my everyday coffee.

Mistakes aren’t something to be afraid of or scared to admit.

It’s something you should embrace-the good and the bad parts.

Love  yourself and your mistakes, because once you can, someone else can too.

Until next time,

Elaine H.

 

 

Leave a comment