A Year Older

“Happy Birthday Elaine!”

“You’re 17 now, how does it feel?

“You’re so old, you’re going to die first!”

These were just a few phrases being thrown my way yesterday as I celebrated my 17th birthday.

One of the things I did for my birthday was drive along the beach coast with my two best friends in the car, as we listened to “Rather Be” by Clean Bandits.

Hannah and Kimberly have been my two bestfriends for a good amount of time. They showed me how to live life, how to get the best experience out of it, and to just enjoy whatever life has to offer me.

We drove the carless streets, going about 55 mph, the wind playing with our hairs as we shouted the lyrics of the song at the top of our lungs.

At that moment, I had a flashback of the 17 years I have roamed this planet.

I realized that in my life I have gained and lost so much.

I’ve lost friends.

Memories.

Motivation.

Dreams.

But yet in the 17 years of my life, I’ve made so many friends worth dying for. I’ve made memories that I’ll never forget, that’s etched in the side of my brain until I die. I’ve become a more mature person with grown knowledge from my mistakes. And I’ve also created new dreams for myself.

Every second we’re growing, and every day we’re becoming new people.

We aren’t the same as we were yesterday and we won’t be the same person tomorrow.

We make decisions that change who we are. The choices we make in the present determines who we are, and the choices we have made in the past represents us, but the choices we make in the future are who we choose to be.

In my 17 years of living, I have realized that I should not regret any decision/choice that I make.

I’m not a firm believer of fate, but I do believe that our lives are mapped out for us in a way and that every decision that we have made was made for a reason. Every step that we take, every breathe that we breathe happens for a reason.

It happens so that you are here, at this moment, reading this blog post because maybe you were having a bad day and needed a little comfort. Maybe you were content with life and needed a little read.

But at the end of the day, you must have stumbled upon this blog for a reason and made a choice to read this blog post.

So go, live your life.

Don’t hold back, be risky.

Every decision you make now determines who you choose to be.

It could be the worst decision of your life, or the best decision of your life.

As long as you don’t regret it.

Because if you spend your life questioning “what if”, and never actually attempt to figure out the answer behind your “what if” question, are you actually living?

I mean, you’re only getting A Year Older.

 

 

 

Leave a comment